Sanford And Son (Season 2) DVD Review

Recipient of 7 Emmy and 6 Golden Globes nominations, including a Emmy for Outstanding Comedy Series, Sanford And Son is one of the first television shows in history to focus almost entirely on the lives of African-American characters. With a script adapted from the British TV series Steptoe & Son, Sanford And Son highlighted the underrated talent of popular stand-up comedian Redd Foxx (prevented by segregation from becoming a superstar decades earlier). Created by Norman Lear, the brains behind such hits as All In The Family, the show signaled the emergence of a new class of sitcoms penned by the 1970s writer. His work included such notable series as Maude (1972), Good Times (1974), and The Jeffersons (1975). Peppered with stinging one-liners and hilarious antics, Sanford And Son held a Top 10 position in the Nielsen ratings every year except its final season…

The Sanford & Son (Season 2) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere “By the Numbers” in which Fred dreams of a series of numbers. Despite Lamont’s insistence in forbidding Fred to play the lottery, he believes his dream is destiny and it turns out to be so when Fred wins a $500 cash prize. Fred now finds himself a bit richer with a number of people hoping to get a piece of the action, among them – Aunt Ethel, Bubba, and a robber… Other notable episodes from Season 2 include “Tooth or Consequences” in which Fred’s toothache is amplified by his refusal to visit a dentist, and “A Guest in the Yard” in which Fred and Lamont discover a homeless vagrant sleeping in their junk yard…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Sanford & Son (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 15 (By the Numbers) Air Date: 09-15-1972
Episode 16 (Whiplash) Air Date: 09-22-1972
Episode 17 (The Dowry) Air Date: 09-29-1972
Episode 18 (Jealousy) Air Date: 10-06-1972
Episode 19 (Tooth or Consequences) Air Date: 10-13-1972
Episode 20 (The Card Sharps) Air Date: 10-27-1972
Episode 21 (Have Gun, Will Sell) Air Date: 11-03-1972
Episode 22 (The Puerto Ricans Are Coming!) Air Date: 11-10-1972
Episode 23 (The Shootout) Air Date: 11-17-1972
Episode 24 (Blood is Thicker Than Junk) Air Date: 11-24-1972
Episode 25 (Sanford and Son and Sister Makes Three) Air Date: 12-01-1972
Episode 26 (A Guest in the Yard) Air Date: 12-08-1972
Episode 27 (Fred & Carol & Fred & Donna) Air Date: 12-15-1972
Episode 28 (The Light Housekeeper) Air Date: 12-22-1972
Episode 29 (The Big Party) Air Date: 01-05-1973
Episode 30 (A Visit from Lena Horne) Air Date: 01-12-1973
Episode 31 (Lamont Goes African) Air Date: 01-19-1973
Episode 32 (Watts Side Story) Air Date: 01-26-1973
Episode 33 (The Infernal Triangle) Air Date: 02-02-1973
Episode 34 (Pops ‘n’ Pals) Air Date: 02-09-1973
Episode 35 (Home Sweet Home for the Aged) Air Date: 02-16-1973
Episode 36 (Pot Luck) Air Date: 02-23-1973
Episode 37 (The Kid) Air Date: 03-09-1973
Episode 38 (Rated X) Air Date: 03-16-1973